Did you like how we did? Rate your experience!



46 votes

What percentage of firearms transfers are done without a background?

Private sales and transfers are the exact same thing as far as those goes, there are some exceptions for inheritance and direct family but generally private sales and transfers are the exact same thing. First as the exact amount of private sales is unknown (as it should be) there is no way they can come up with a percentage. But first lets look at that link for inaccuracies. Now if we just take this statement Forty percent of guns are sold at gun shows, online sales. considering the majority of sellers at gun shows are FFLs so Federal Form 4473 and FBI NICS background check at a min and online sales can only go to an FFL so Federal Form 4473 and FBI NICS background check we know 40 percent statistic, or the percentage of people who obtain a firearm without going through a background check. can not possibly be correct. Now many private sellers at gun shows take advantage of all the FFLs there and have them do background checks for them, many private sellers only sell to people that have a concealed permit which means they had a much more extensive background check in the last 25 years depending on state. Many gun shows require private sellers to go through an FFL regardless of state law. Many gun shows have undercover ATF and Uniformed Law Enforcement to keep things on the up an up. In addition to the private seller laws which are Private Gun Sale Laws by State - FindLaw as of 2016 gun show private sellers also had to do the below, might be more now. As of November 2016, 19 states and the District of Columbia have their own gun show background check requirements. Nine states (California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, New York, Nevada, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Washington) require background checks at the point of sale for all transfers, including purchases from unlicensed sellers. In Maryland and Pennsylvania, background checks are required for handguns only. Gun show gun buyers in Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, and New Jersey are required to obtain a state-issued permit. Iowa, Michigan, Nebraska, and North Carolina require state-issued permits for handguns only. So just reading that one section of the article they exaggerated by at least 10 times. Now Im am not going to believe any research done by a place that the anti gun billionaire Bloomberg donates to. Now a sample of 3000 people called on the phone is a relatively small sample when there are 80+ million gun owners. Who is to know if the ones called actually even had a gun or answered honestly ?

Loading, please wait...